My terrible mix tape business is doomed to fail

I have the worst idea for a business ever.

I’ve had it for a long time.

It started out as just a bad idea…but the way things have changed it’s now genuinely the worst.

Like, it would never work.

Want to hear what it is?

A mix tape business.

You give me money and I make you a mix tape…it’s that simple.

Well, not a tape. A CD.

See…it’s partially doomed already. About half of you don’t even listen to CDs anymore. You just plug your phones into your car stereo.

But let’s take a step back.

What’s behind this idea in the first place?

In short, I think it’s a ton of fun finding music on iTunes.

I can spend hours following rabbit trails to see where new and interesting songs might be hiding.

And I’m not going to lie…I’m pretty good.

A few times I’ve found songs before they’ve ended up in Apple commercials.

The other reason I like making mixes is I like creating things that make other people happy.

That’s why I like trying to make people laugh and why I like cooking for my family when I get the chance.

The mix tape deal rolls a few things I love into one tidy package.

All these business books I read say if you’re going to start your own business you should do something where your passion intersects with your natural talent.

Would you believe there are people where that (passion + talent) honestly is brokering commodities (whatever that is) or teaching ex-convicts how to operate heavy equipment?

I admire those people.

For now I can’t sell mix tapes…for like a million reasons. Copyrights being just one of them.

A business model built on breaking the law probably isn’t the sturdiest.

So I’ll share my talents with the wife until I crack the next, less horrible idea.

This entry was posted in Business, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment